What is Ashtanga?

Ashtanga is a system of traditional yoga practice transmitted to the modern world. Ashtanga yoga involves synchronizing the breath with a series of challenging postures. The practice produces intense internal heat and purifying sweat that detoxifies the muscles and organs. It is a vigorous moving meditation that helps improve focus, circulation and relieve anxiety in a day-to-day life.
jovita ashtanga hot yoga markham
jovita ashtanga hot yoga markham
jovita ashtanga hot yoga markham
jovita ashtanga hot yoga markham

Opening Chant

Vande Gurunam Charanaravinde
Sandarshita Svatma Sukava Bodhe
Nih Sreyase Jangalikayamane
Samsara Halahala Mohashantyai
I bow to the lotus feet of the Guru,
And behold the awakeed joy of my own Soul,
The ultimate refuge, the jungle doctor,
Pacifying the poisonous delusion of repetitive existence.

Abahu Purushakaram
Shankhacakrsi Dharinam
Sahasra Sirasam Svetam
Pranamami Patanjalim
I bow the Patanjali who has assumed the form of a
brilliantly luminous man with thousands of snake heads,
and who bears a conch, a discus, and a sword.

Closing Chant

SvasthiPrajaBhyaha PariPalaYantam NyaYena Margena Mahim Mahishaha
GoBrahmanebhyaha ShubamastuNityam LokahSamastah SukhinoBhavantu
Om Shantih Shantih Shantihih
Let Prosperity be Glorified
Let Rulers rule the world with law and Justice
Let Divinity and Erudition be protected
Let people of the whole world be happy and prosperous

Why Chant?

The chant refers to the tradition of honouring the wisdom of the teachers who passed down the ancient yoga traditions. Chanting awakens the voice, deepens the breath, energizes the body, and clears the mind. You may simply just close your eyes and focus your attention inward.

Ashtanga Terminology

An asana is a pose or posture.
Vinyasa refers to a series of connected movements or short sequences of movements used to connect one pose to another.
Ujjayi breath(Ocean breath)
Ujjayi breath is a type of pranayama (controlled breathing) in which you breathe in a constan rhythm through only the nose.
Dristi (Gaze point)
Drishti is a point of focus where the gaze rests during a posture, gazing outward while bringing awareness inward.
Samasthiti (Same state)
Samasthiti means return to the basic standing position.
1 ekam
2 dve
3 trini
4 catvari
5 panca
6 sat
7 sapta
8 astau
9 nava
10 dasa
11 ekadasa
12 dvadasa
13 trayodasa
14 caturdasa
15 pancadasa
16 sodasa
17 saptadasa